Changing your vision

Ben asked, “How do I know when I should change my vision?” It’s a great question that potentially impacts everything we do.

Here’s what I think.

Values drive mission and vision. Richard, a LF reader correctly observed in the comment section of, “Into the Unknown,” that values change infrequently and never on a wholesale basis.

Since mission and vision are driven by values, I’ve made this conclusion. When your values change – change your vision.

I value generous knowledge sharing and relationship development. Currently, my greatest opportunity to express those values is by leveraging Internet technology. Leveraging a blog, Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, and E-mail are components of a vision that expresses my values.

The only thing with the power to change vision is re-vision of values.

Changing vision without changing values is like dressing a pig in a tux. He might look good for a while but not for long.

*****

What do you think?  When should individuals or organizations change their vision? How?

*****

Leadership Freak

Dan Rockwell

You can receive Leadership Freak in your email. It’s free.  It’s private.  Go to the main page of Leadership Freak by clicking the red banner at the top of this page, look in the right-hand navigation bar, enter your email and click subscribe.  Your email address is always kept private.  Note:  if it doesn’t arrive, check your spam filter for a confirmation email.

Image source