The Secret: What Great Leaders Know and Do

Confusion is common.

Confusion is the gift of those who think they know but don’t.

Wisdom seeks clarity; evaluated experience delivers it.

Ken Blanchard and Mark Miller clarify, “The Secret,” of leadership in five letters:

S.E.R.V.E.

The Secret

S.E.R.V.E.: See the future – envision and communicate a compelling picture of a preferred future.

  • What do I want to be true of the future?
  • Why should anyone care?

S.E.R.V.E.: Engage and develop others – recruit and align people for the right job.

  • What invited my engagement in the past?
  • Which of these factors are missing in those I lead?

The future is about people not programs, projects, or products.

Mark Miller on the role of failure and success in developing leaders (1:35):

S.E.R.V.E.: Reinvent continuously – continuously focus on improvement.

  • How do I need to change?
  • Where do I want different outcomes?

Successful leaders address and correct problems without creating negative environments.

Mark Miller on reinventing continuously without becoming negative (2:53):

S.E.R.V.E.: Value results and relationships – generate measurable results and cultivate great relationships.

  • Which is my personal bias as a leader – results or relationships?
  • How can I compensate for the area that’s not my personal strength?

Leaders who are great at results and relationships reach the highest.

S.E.R.V.E.: Embody values – live fully aligned with stated values.

  • What values do I want to drive behaviors in my organization?
  • What are my actions communicating?

Ultimate leadership question:

“Am I a serving leader or a self-serving leader?” (From “The Secret“)

The Secret” won’t take long to read but it takes a lifetime to live.

Which letter in the S.E.R.V.E acronym do you find most important? Most challenging?

****

Bonus material:

Free Chapter of “The Secret: What Great Leaders Know and Do”

Free Webinar September 29, 20 p.m. EDT with Ken Blanchard and Mark Miller.

Winners of “The Secret”

have been selected and notified.