The 4 to 1 Rule Will Change Your Life

July 2, 2011 I decided to adopt the 4 to 1 rule. I challenge you to do the same. Every negative comment requires four positive comments.

I know what some of you are thinking; that’s impossible.

Let me clarify. Make as many negative comments as you like. The challenge is following every negative with four positives.

My first efforts at the 4 to 1 rule were mediocre. I’m good for 1.5 positive statements before a “yeah but” emerges. The “yeah but” added four more positives and took me to six before finishing the first cycle. I have a ways to go but I’m going for it.

I’m finding ways to positively state negatives so I don’t have to come up with four positives. For example, “You did that wrong” becomes “I’m confident you can do better.”

Why is this important:

Words are rudders; they set and maintain the direction of life. Positive words take you where you want to go.

A real challenge:

Would you like a real challenge? Apply the 4 to 1 rule to your thoughts as well. Every negative thought is answered with four positive thoughts.

We need bumper stickers, tee shirts, bill boards, and tattoos.

Another clarification; negative is negative. Include true negative statements in the 4 to 1 rule. “That ass just cut me off, is a true negative statement that calls for four positives statements.

Simple positives:

The simplest positive is an expression of gratitude. When you struggle to find a positive be thankful for something, anything. Don’t connect the positive with the negative; just say anything positive.

Two side benefits:

People enjoy positive people.

You force yourself, in addition, to focus more on things you want rather than things you don’t want. You become a “yes” person rather than a “no” person.

**********

Follow-up post: See the Good, Say the Good – Another Strategy for Developing a Positive Attitude.

**********

How are you building a positive orientation toward life?

Can you take the 4 to 1 challenge?

**********

Don’t miss a single issue of Leadership Freak, subscribe todayIt’s free.  It’s private.  It’s always practical and brief.

Go to the main page of Leadership Freak by clicking the banner at the top of this page, look in the right-hand navigation bar, enter your email and click subscribe.  Your email address is always kept private.  Note:  if it doesn’t arrive, check your spam filter for a confirmation email.